Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Press / Danny Clinch)


The Killers and Phoebe Bridgers release touching new song

Las Vegas rock band, The Killers, have released their long-awaited seventh album, Pressure Machine (13th August). The album is a return to form for the Killers, who offer up another artistic accomplishment. Over the album’s fifty-one minute duration, there are many highlights, including the album’s title track and ‘Cody’.

However, there is another brilliant reason why the album stands out. Track six features our favourite musician du jour, Phoebe Bridgers. The song is a mellow acoustic number with a yearning vocal melody reminiscent of America’s traditional country music.

Killers frontman told Rolling Stone: “When I was writing these songs, I was thinking of things like Sherwood Anderson’s book Winesburg, Ohio or that book Pastures of Heaven (by John Steinbeck)”. He continued: “where it’s all these short stories that take place in this one setting. For some reason, I had the audacity to try it myself. Once I realized they were going to take place here and they were going to be true stories, everything just really fell in our laps.”

The Killers also released a video for Springsteen-esque single ‘Quiet Town’. Pressure Machine follows last years hit Imploding the Mirage. The new album was composed amidst the barren, tour-less days of the pandemic. It is produced by The War on Drugs collaborator Shawn Everett and Foxygen’s Jonathan Rado. 

This follows a busy period for Phoebe Bridgers, who has arguably had the year of her life. Earlier this week, she also shared a cover of Metallica’s ‘Nothing Else Matters’ for The Metallica Blacklist, an album of covers celebrating thirty years since their blockbuster The Black Album was released. The Metallica Blacklist also features the likes of Miley Cyrus, Sam Fender and Biffy Clyro.

Listen to ‘Runaway Horses’, below.