Subscribe to our newsletter

DIIV share 'Skin Game' and announce new album 'Deceiver'


DIIV have returned with the new single Skin Game’ which coincides with the announcement of their forthcoming album, Deceiver.

Deceiver, recorded in March 2019 during some time spent in Los Angeles, and DIIV enlisted an outside producer for the first time by bringing in Sonny Diperri who has previously worked with the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails and Protomartyr. The new album is preceded by 2012s Oshin and 2016 effort Is the Is Are.

“It’s an imaginary dialogue between two characters, which could either be myself or people I know,” Cole said when speaking about the new single. “I spent six months in several different rehab facilities at the beginning of 2017. I was living with other addicts. Being a recovering addict myself, there are a lot of questions like, ‘Who are we? What is this disease?’ Our last record was about recovery in general, but I truthfully didn’t buy in.

“I decided to live in my disease instead. ‘Skin Game’ looks at where the pain comes from. I’m looking at the personal, physical, emotional, and broader political experiences feeding into the cycle of addiction for millions of us.”

Here it is:

Deceiver Tracklist:

  1. Horsehead
  2. Like Before You Were Born
  3. Skin Game
  4. Between Tides
  5. Taker
  6. For the Guilty
  7. The Spark
  8. Lorelei
  9. Blankenship
  10. Acheron