Subscribe to our newsletter

DIIV confirm new music is on the way and officially part ways with Devin Ruben Perez


One of our favourite bands, DIIV, have announced that a new album is coming this year. We’ve yet to receive an album title but it will be the first full-length record since 2016’s Is The Is Are. The band made the announcement via Instagram.

One notable change to DIIV was the exclusion of now former bassist Devin Ruben Perez. Though Perez was not a part of the band’s tour with Deafhaven last year, it seems now it has been confirmed that he will no longer be apart of DIIV. The band’s current lineup is Zachary Cole Smith, Andrew Bailey, Colin Caulfield, and Ben Newman.

The departure was confirmed by DIIV’s representatives via Pitchfork. Perez was in the middle of public outrage back in 2014 after posting racist, sexist, homophobic and anti-semitic remarks on 4chan. Smith tweeted at the time, “I will never EVER tolerate sexism, racism, homophobia, bullying, or bigotry of any kind. I’m doing everything to get to the bottom of this.”

It seems they have come to the decision to remove Perez from the band and continue now as a separate four-piece. All that aside, we can’t wait for the new album.

DIIV keep us Dreaming