Subscribe to our newsletter

DIIV release brand new single 'Taker'


DIIV reveal their new song ‘Taker’ from their forthcoming third full-length album, Deceiver, which will be released on 4th October 2019 via Captured Tracks.

Deceiver, recorded in March 2019 during some time spent in Los Angeles, saw DIIV enlist an outside producer for the first time by bringing in Sonny Diperri who has previously worked with the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails and Protomartyr. The new album is arrives as the eagerly anticipated follow-up to 2016 effort Is the Is Are

The new song, opening with it’s driving lead guitar, arrives as the second single to be taken from the album following the release of ‘Skin Game’.  “I spent six months in several different rehab facilities at the beginning of 2017. I was living with other addicts. Being a recovering addict myself, there are a lot of questions like, ‘Who are we? What is this disease?’ Our last record was about recovery in general, but I truthfully didn’t buy in,” lead singer Zachary Cole Smith said.

The new song follows that pattern of self reflection, a moment of difficult memories collected into four-and-a-half minutes of emotional turmoil which, in turn, produces some of DIIV’s most honest work in years. In what has been a exhaustingly difficult few years for the group, Deceiver appears to be the rebirth of the band, a maturing growth on the solid foundations they built with 2012 breakthrough record Oshin.

Track of the Day:

Deceiver Tracklist: 

  1. Horsehead
  2. Like Before You Were Born
  3. Skin Game
  4. Between Tides
  5. Taker
  6. For the Guilty
  7. The Spark
  8. Lorelei
  9. Blankenship
  10. Acheron