Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Parker Day)


Thundercat announces new album 'It Is What It Is'

Thundercat has announced his new album, It Is What It Is, which is scheduled for release on April 3 through Brainfeeder Records.

The 15-track record, which arrives as the eagerly anticipated follow-up to 2017s critically acclaimed effort Drunk, was produced by the Los Angeles bassist with Flying Lotus.

The album marks a number of different collaborators, most notably the likes of Ty Dolla $ign, Childish Gambino, Lil B, Kamasi Washington, Louis Cole and Zack Fox.

“This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that,” Stephen Bruner, aka Thundercat, said in a statement. “It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

To mark the album news, Thundercat has released the record’s first single, ‘Black Qualls’ which features Steve Lacy and Steve Arrington. Stream that track, below.

It Is What It Is tracklist:

1. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26
2. Innerstellar Love
3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)
4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)
5. Miguel’s Happy Dance
6. How Sway
7. Funny Thing
8. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)
9. Dragonball Durag
10. How I Feel
11. King Of The Hill
12. Unrequited Love
13. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)
14. Existential Dread
15. It Is What It Is