Subscribe to our newsletter

PJ Harvey releases six new songs from ‘The Virtues’ soundtrack


PJ Harvey has shared six new songs which have been exclusively written for a new Shane Meadows TV series, The Virtues.

While there has been no discussion of Harvey releasing a new album, she has been busy creating the score for stage production All About Eve, writing music for British thriller, Dark River, and now creating the music for Shane Meadows’ latest drama The Virtues.

From the project with Meadows, Harvey has previously released ‘The Crowded Cell’ as a taster, a song that will be heard playing over the closing credits of the four-episode series.

Now though, Harvey has released six new songs which come as part of the official soundtrack for the series. “I am so happy to have provided the original music for this extraordinary and powerful new drama by a director I have admired and followed all my life,” Harvey said of her contribution to the series in a statement.

“Shane has a unique directness and sensibility to his work which I am drawn to and aspire to in my own work, so our collaboration was open and trusting. I sent Shane ideas as demos for him to try out as he edited and let him choose what he used and where to greatest effect.

“In the end we both loved how the demos worked so left them as they were, again adding to the raw beauty of the piece.”

To coincide with the release of the soundtrack, Harvey has also shared an official video for the previously released song ‘The Crowded Cell’ which has been directed by Meadows himself.

We discover throughout the series that young Joseph ran away from a care home when he was nine years old,” Meadows said of the clip. “We shot these flashbacks on an old VHS camera that we bought the day before online which adds an authenticity to the footage.”

Here it is: