Subscribe to our newsletter

Pixies to release a new album this year

Pixies have announced the plans to release new material later this year.

The band, made up of singer and guitarist Black Francis, guitarist Joey Santiago, bassist-singer Paz Lenchantin and drummer David Lovering, will release a new album in September.

Teaming up again with producer Tom Dalgety, the record will become Pixies seventh studio LP and a follow-up to 2016’s Head Carrier. Having spent most of last year writing the new material, the band wrote the headed to Dreamland Recordings near Woodstock, New York, for a prolonged recording session in December.

The news comes as the band release details of their new podcast ‘Past Is Prologue’ which acts as a behind-the-scenes documentation of the record. Teaming up with podcast company Signal Co. No1 for the project, the co-founder Michael Simons said they chose the title “as it refers to the duality of a journey, what the band has done previously and what the band Is doing now.”

He added in a statement: “While the emphasis of the podcast will be on the creation of the new album and looking forward, we were very interested, from a story perspective, in the way history has shaped who the Pixies are, and how and what they are creating now, how the past creates the present.”