Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Cornell University)


New star-studded 'The Velvet Underground & Nico' cover album announced


An absolutely jam-packed new covers album of The Velvet Underground’s legendary debut LP with German singer and fashion icon Nico is set to be released this fall.

Featuring the likes of Iggy Pop, Michael Stipe, Kurt Vile, Courtney Barnett, St. Vincent, Fontaines D.C., Thurston Moore, Bobby Gillespie, Sharon Van Etten and Angel Olsen, the album will include new versions of all eleven tracks from The Velvet Underground and Nico, the Andy Warhol-produced album that is one of the most highly influential collection of songs ever made.

The pairings of songs to artists are inspired: Stipe will take on the gentle lull of leadoff track ‘Sunday Morning’, Fontaines D.C. will get to indulge their heady fuzz fantasies on ‘The Black Angel Death Song’, and Vile will get to play some souped-up rock and roll on ‘Run, Run, Run’.

St. Vincent, Van Etten, Olsen, and Barnett will all be channelling Nico’s dark and dramatic bellow as they cover ‘All Tomorrow’s Parties’, ‘Femme Fatale’, and ‘I’ll Be Your Mirror’, respectively. The album will mark Van Etten and Olsen’s second official collaboration after this year’s wonderful ‘Like I Used To’ duet.

Elsewhere, The National singer Matt Berninger will bring a sinister edge to the already slightly depraved ‘I’m Waiting For The Man’, Andrew Bird & Lucius will combine their powers on ‘Venus In Furs’, Thurston Moore and Bobby Gillespie will add swirling psychedelic touches to ‘Heroin’, King Princess will take on ‘There She Goes Again’, and Iggy Pop will conclude the album with former touring bassist Matt Sweeney on ‘European Son’.

It’s shaping up to be a good fall for Velvet nostalgia: along with the new covers album, Todd Hayne’s documentary focusing on the band will premiere on Apple TV+ on October 15.

Check out Kurt Vile’s version of ‘Run, Run, Run’ down below. The accompanying covers album will be released on September 24.

The Velvet Underground & Nico covers album tracklist:

1. Michael Stipe – “Sunday Morning”
2. Matt Berninger – “I’m Waiting For the Man”
3. Sharon Van Etten & Angel Olsen – “Femme Fatale”
4. Andrew Bird & Lucius – “Venus In Furs”
5. Kurt Vile & The Violators – “Run Run Run”
6. St. Vincent & Thomas Barlett – “All Tomorrow’s Parties”
7. Thurston Moore & Bobby Gillespie – “Heroin”
8. King Princess – “There She Goes Again”
9. Courtney Barnett – “I’ll Be Your Mirror”
10. Fontaines D.C. – “The Black Angel’s Death Song”
11. Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney – “European Son”