Mac DeMarco, Shame and Whitney are among the first names unveiled for Iceland Airwaves festival.

The annual music festival held in Reykjavík, Iceland in early November, has a strong history of combining both international and Scandinavian artists.

This year, the event will take place on November 6th-9th and will merge the likes of Mac DeMarco and Shame along with Aron Can, Berndsen, Hatari and more.

Here is the first round of acts revealed:


Mac DeMarco (CA) // Whitney (US) // Shame (UK) // Anna of the North (NO) // Boy Azooga (UK) // Georgia (UK) // Alexandra Stréliski (CA) // The Howl & The Hum (UK) // SONS (BE) // Murkage Dave (UK) // Amanda Tenfjord (NO) // Pavvla (ES) // The Garrys (UK)


Aron Can // Auðn // Auður // Berndsen // Between Mountains // Ceasetone // Elín Sif // GDRN // Grísalappalísa // Hatari // Hildur // IamHelgi // Matthildur // Moses Hightower // Une Misère // Vök // Warmland

Will Larnach-Jones, Head of Marketing and Operations at Iceland Airwaves, said: “Iceland Airwaves is all about discovery. 2019 builds on last year’s mission – to return to the ‘heart’ of the festival and shine light on the world’s best-emerging talent, local stars and interesting artists – all within the warm, electric atmosphere of downtown Reykjavik,” in a statement.

“Whether you’re a budding gig goer or a seasoned industry professional, Iceland Airwaves is hands down the best long weekend for music lovers there is.”


No more articles