Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Cold Spring Records)

Lars Von Trier’s ‘Antichrist’ soundtrack to be given first ever vinyl release


Lars Von Trier’s highly controversial film, Antichrist, has seen its soundtrack released on limited edition vinyl.

Arriving ten years after the film’s initial release, the soundtrack has been pressed onto a heavyweight 180 gram olive green vinyl and housed inside a sleeve featuring the original theatrical release artwork.

The film, originally released in 2009, stars Willem Dafoe and Charlotte Gainsbourg and tells the story of a couple who retreat to a cabin in the woods in attempt to deal with the grief suffered by the death of their child.

In what proved to be a hugely controversial film due to its explicitly distressing scenes, Von Trier later admitted that he wrote the project while he had been hospitalised due to “a significant depressive episode.”

The score was created by sound designer Kristian Eidnes Andersen, an eight-track soundtrack which features two versions of ‘Lascia ch’io pianga’, a song from Handel’s opera Rinaldo which has followed Von Trier through many of his projects.

Lars Von Trier’s ‘Antichrist’ soundtrack tracklist:

  • ‘Intro’
  • ‘Lascia Ch’io Pianga Prologue’
  • ‘Train’
  • ‘Foetus’
  • ‘Attic’
  • ‘Lascia Ch’io Pianga Epilogue’
  • ‘Credits Part 1’
  • ‘Credits Part 2’

The limited edition released has been reduced to 250 copies of 180g Eden Olive Vinyl with Etched B-Side and available to order, here.