Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Andreas Neumann)

Josh Homme reveals first new ‘Desert Sessions’ album in 16 years: Royal Blood, Warpaint and more

Amid growing mystery around the release of Josh Home’s eagerly anticipated Desert Sessions album, the Queens of the Stone Age frontman has finally revealed the details.

Arriving as the first Desert Sessions album in 16 years, Home revealed that a star0studded line-up has been recruited with the likes of Royal Blood, Warpaint, ZZ Top, Matt Berry and more all contributing. Typically, Homme as produced the albums after residing to the Rancho De La Luna studios in Joshua Tree, California.

The music collective, who released ten different albums between 1997 and 2003, will release Vol. 11 (Arrivederci Despair) and Vol. 12 (Tightwads & Nitwits & Critics & Heels) on October 25 via Matador Records.

“The results are eight new songs that embody the legacy of freedom from expectations and inhibitions that stretches back to 1997, when Homme led a first retreat to the Joshua Tree desert,” the synopsis reads. “What began as a casual writing and recording session amongst friends—isolated from daily distractions and comforts—has since become a possibly infinite body of work.

“Now spanning 12 volumes over the course of two decades (and a total of two documented live performances), The Desert Sessions has featured some of music’s most cherished icons—past players have included Polly Harvey, Mark Lanegan, Josh Freese, Dean Ween, among many others—deliberately removing themselves  rom their comfort zones and working together to create some of their most relaxed yet challenging work.”

Desert Sessions 11 + 12 tracklist

Move Together (lead vocal: Billy F. Gibbons)
Noses in Roses, Forever (lead vocal: Joshua Homme)
Far East for the Trees
If You Run (lead vocal: Libby Grace)
Crucifire (lead vocal: Mike Kerr)
Chic Tweetz (vocals: Töôrnst Hülpft, Matt Berry)
Something You Can’t See (lead vocal: Jake Shears)
Easier Said Than Done (lead vocal: Joshua Homme)