Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Press)


Johnny Marr announces new album, releases 'Spirit Power and Soul' single


Legendary guitarist Johnny Marr has announced the details for his latest solo LP, Fever Dreams Pts 1-4. The double album is getting its first preview in the form of the brand new single ‘Spirit Power and Soul’.

The real question is, have you ever wondered what Johnny Marr would sound like if he joined New Order? Just think about it – two Manchester all-timers trading licks and gabbing about their favourite drum machines. Though we may have had a taste of such an event with Marr’s Barney Sumner collaboration Electronic, now, things are a little more robust.

‘Spirit Power and Soul’ pairs Marr’s classic six-string work with a driving electronic backing track that feels both fresh and confident. Unwavering in direction and infallible in delivery.

Marr adeptly manoeuvres his signature sound around icy synths and a club-ready beat. When the chorus hits that C# in the vocal melody (right as Marr sings the word “soul”) it’s enough to send shivers up your spine. For anyone that might have tuned out of his career around the time he started joining band’s like Modest Mouse and The Cribs, it would seem Marr has turned himself into a formidable singer on top of his lauded guitar skills.

“‘Spirit Power and Soul’ is a kind of mission statement,” Marr explained in a press release. “I had an idea about an electro sound with gospel feeling, in my own words… an electro soul anthem.”

The first part of the forthcoming album, Fever Dreams Pt. 1, is being released early as an EP. The release will feature ‘Spirit Power and Soul’ along with four other tracks. The full double album has yet to be fitted with an official release date, but rest assured that we’ll update you when that information comes out.

If you wanted to see Marr at one of his four upcoming UK tour dates, I hope you live in Blackburn, because his shows in Leeds and London, plus his homecoming show in Manchester, are all sold out. You can check out the four dates down below. If you’re in the US, you can check Marr out as the special guest for The Killers’ 2022 arena tour that runs from August to October.

Check out the video for ‘Spirit Power and Soul’ down below. Fever Dreams Pt. 1 will be released on October 15.

Fever Dreams Pt. 1 tracklist:

1. ‘Spirit Power and Soul’
2. ‘Receiver’
3. ‘All These Days’
4. ‘Ariel’

Johnny Marr September 2021 UK tour dates:

20 – Leeds, Stylus SOLD OUT
21 – Blackburn, King George’s Hall
23 – London, Electric Ballroom SOLD OUT
25 – Manchester, Old Trafford Cricket Ground (supporting The Courteeners) SOLD OUT