Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: John Joe Coffey)


Listen to Joe Strummer’s unearthed home recording of ‘Junco Partner’


Following the announcement of a newly remastered Joe Strummer greatest hits LP, the first of the rarities on the record has been released. The home recording sees former The Clash frontman Joe Strummer playing an acoustic version of ‘Junco Panther’. 

The homemade take will feature alongside other previously unheard deep cuts on the Assembly compilation set for release on the 26th of March via George Harrison’s record company Dark Horse Records, which is now controlled by his son Dhani Harrison and manager David Zonshine. 

The press release for the single states, that Strummer first discovered ‘Junco Partner’ on an R&B compilation in the 1970s thereafter it became a staple on the setlist of Strummer’s first band, the 101ers, proving itself to be one of Strummers most beloved tracks.

The track was recorded by The Clash for their 1980 release ‘Sandinista!’ and later became a mainstay of live shows with Strummer even continuing to play the song with the Mescaleros right up until the end of his career.

Elsewhere the record will feature live tracks recorded at London’s Brixton Academy on November 24, 2001, as well the Bob Marley cover ‘Redemption Song’. You can check out the full tracklisting for the record as well as the home recording of ‘Junco Panther’ below. 

‘Assembly’ tracklisting:

  1. ‘Coma Girl’, ‘Johnny Appleseed’, ‘I Fought The Law’ (Live at Brixton Academy, London, 24 November 2001)
  2. ‘Tony Adams’
  3. ‘Sleepwalk’
  4. ‘Love Kills’
  5. ‘Get Down Moses’
  6. ‘X-Ray Style’
  7. ‘Mondo Bongo’
  8. ‘Rudie Can’t Fail’ (Live at Brixton Academy, London, 24 November 2001)
  9. ‘At The Border, Guy’
  10. ‘Long Shadow’
  11. ‘Forbidden City’
  12. ‘Yalla Yalla’
  13. ‘Redemption Song’
  14. ‘Junco Partner’ (Acoustic)