Subscribe to our newsletter

Interpol reveal surprise new album and single ‘The Rover’

Interpol have revealed their surprise new album and single ‘The Rover’.

The album, which is titled Marauder, is their first new album in four years. The band announced the news with a live press conference from Mexico City and shared first single ‘The Rover’.

Marauder is a facet of myself,” Paul Banks said of the record. “That’s the guy that fucks up friendships and does crazy shit. He taught me a lot, but it’s representative of a persona that’s best left in song. In a way, this album is like giving him a name and putting him to bed.”

“This record is where I feel touching on real things that have happened to me are exciting and evocative to write about,” he explains. “I think in the past, I always felt autobiography was too small a thing for me to reference. I feel like now, I’m able to romanticise parts of my own life.”

Here’s the first taster:

Marauder Tracklisting:
1. If You Really Love Nothing
The Rover
3. Complications
4. Flight of Fancy
5. Stay in Touch
6. Interlude 1
7. Mountain Child
9. Surveillance
10. Number 10
11. Party’s Over
12. Interlude 2
13. It Probably Matters