Subscribe to our newsletter

Ezra Furman shares new song 'Calm Down AKA I should Not Be Alone' ahead of new album


Our favourite punk, Ezra Furman has shared a brand new song ahead of newly announced record Twelve Nudes. The track, ‘Calm Down aka I Should Not Be Alone’ is another triumph and the start of Furman’s upcoming “punk record”.

With the ringing success of Furman’s last long play output Transangelic Exodus still chiming through our ears, we were thrilled to learn of a new album on the way. Twelve Nudes will be out on Bella Union on AUgust 30th.

Furman suggested that the racket won’t stop either “This is our punk record, we made it in Oakland, quickly. We drank and smoked. Then we made the loud parts louder. I hurt my voice screaming. This was back in 2018, when things were bad in the world. The songs are naked with nothing to hide.”

Ezra Furman takes on Vampire Weekend’s ‘Unbelievers’

The new song ‘Calm Down AKA I Should Not Be Alone’ is certainly a testament to that ethos. It is a fast and furious brush with life and feels akin to Furman‘s earlier work with The Harpoons, colourful and courageous it’s effortlessly matched by the brilliant animated video. The clip is directed by Beth Jean Houghton, aka Du Blonde and is a straight-up triumph.

“Desperate times make for desperate songs,” Furman said of the new track in a press statement. “I wrote this in the summer of 2018, a terrible time. It’s the sound of me struggling to admit that I’m not OK with the current state of human civilization, in which bad men crush us into submission. Once you admit how bad it feels to live in a broken society, you can start to resist it, and imagine a better one.”

Watch ‘Calm Down AKA I Should Not Be Alone’ below.

Twelve Nudes:

01 Calm Down aka I Should Not Be Alone
02 Evening Prayer aka Justice
03 Transition From Nowhere to Nowhere
04 Rated R Crusaders
05 Trauma
06 Thermometer
07 I Wanna Be Your Girlfriend
08 Blown
09 My Teeth Hurt
10 In America
11 What Can You Do But Rock n Roll