Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Shawn Brackmill)


Bright Eyes announce first album in nine years

Bright Eyes have announced the details of their brand new album, Down in the Weeds Where the World Once Was, with the effort being slated to arrive on August 21st.

The band’s last album came all the way back in 2011 with The People’s Key and the hiatus has seen the thirst for new music from the Conor Oberst fronted group grow to a fever pitch and at long last, it is finally set to arrive.

In addition to the highly anticipated news of another full-length album from the trailblazing group, they have also shared another track from the record in the form of ‘Mariana Trench’.

The video for the new track was created by Art Camp, who say: “The production of the video started at the beginning of quarantine and finished as people came back out of their homes and took to the streets together.

“In 18 different bedrooms across the world, listening to Bright Eyes, keeping each other company, we got the chance to collaborate on a story about embracing and celebrating change. The animation is composed of 2,200 hand-illustrated ink paintings based on original 3D animation and archival footage. We hope it makes you excited to imagine that everything could be new.”

Watch the visuals for the ‘Mariana Trench’ and check out the tracklisting for Down in the Weeds Where the World Once Was, below.

Down in the Weeds Where the World Once Was

  1. ‘Pageturner’s Rag’
  2. ‘Dance and Sing’
  3. ‘Just Once in the World’
  4. ‘Mariana Trench’
  5. ‘One and Done’
  6. ‘Pan and Broom’
  7. ‘Stairwell Song’
  8. ‘Persona Non Grata’
  9. ‘Tilt-A-Whirl’
  10. ‘Hot Car in the Sun’
  11. ‘Forced Convalescence’
  12. ‘To Death’s Heart (In Three Parts)’
  13. ‘Calais to Dover’
  14. ‘Comet Song’