Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Martin Schumann)


Big Thief, Sharon Van Etten and more to feature on a new compilation record


Both Big Thief and Sharon Van Etten have been confirmed to feature on the upcoming charitable record To the People of the Land: Carrizo​/​Comecrudo Solidarity Compilation.

The project, which features 31 songs in total, will also include the likes of Black Belt Eagle Scout, Molly Burch, Jolie Holland, Jackie Venson, Erin Duran, Cowboy Crisis, Future Museums and many more in a bid to raise money for the Carrizo/Comecrudo tribe of Texas.

“As indigenous people continue to lead the fight against the reckless fossil fuel industry, we are honoured to offer this compilation and its earnings in solidarity with everyone in the fight for racial justice and a livable future for all beings on planet earth,” a statement released through Bandcamp read.

The album, which is being created by singer-songwriter Jordan Moser and Austin in collaboration with Texan label Keeled Scales, has landed major attention after it was confirmed that previously unreleased demos by both Bog Thief and Van Etten will be included.

The album will be released on October 9 through Bandcamp and the full tracklisting can be found, below.

‘To the People of the Land: Carrizo/Comecrudo Solidarity Compilation’ tracklist:

1. Aisha Burns – ‘Chinati’
2. Pablo. – ‘Looking Within (Land Back) (feat. Andy Torres)’
3. Black Belt Eagle Scout – ‘My Blood Runs Through This Land’
4. Sun June – ’16 Riders (demo)’
5. Molly Burch – ‘Every Little Thing (demo)’
6. Tenci – ‘Cold Dirty Water (demo)’
7. Big Thief – ‘Jane (demo)’
8. Renée Reed – ‘J’ai Trouvé’
9. Little Wings – ‘Movin Right Along’
10. Justin Boyd / Thor Harris: ‘The Godless Sky Looks On in Disbelief’
11. Jolie Holland – ‘Painted Bird’
12. Will Johnson – ‘Need of Trust and Thunder (demo)’
13. Julian Neel – ‘Carolina Wren’
14. Christelle Bofale – ‘And I’ll Go (demo)’
15. Jesse Wooten – ‘Sometimes to Rise’
16. Tele Novella – ‘He Needs Me’
17. Jess Williamson – ‘Harm None (live)’
18. Sleep Good – ‘Summertime Feeling’
19. Little Mazarn – ‘Bury Me Not on the Lone Prairie’
20. RF Shannon – ‘Cedar Perfume’
21. Sharon Van Etten – ‘Untitled’
22. Jo Schornikow – ‘Election Year’
23. Twain – ‘The Kiss (demo)’
24. Karima Walker – ‘Uncovering’
25. Longriver – ‘The Way That It Is (alternate version)’
26. Jackie Venson – ‘Lost in Time (live)’
27. Jesse Woods – ‘Shattering My Shadow’
28. Jordan Moser – ‘Limestone Trail’
29. Cowboy Crisis – ‘Humming Still Goes Walking By’
30. Erin Duran – ‘Highway Blue (demo)’
31. Future Museums – ‘Jojoba Joy’