Subscribe to our newsletter

Credit: Jason Persse


Yo La Tengo share melancholic new single ‘Bleeding’

Yo La Tengo - 'Bleeding'

Yo La Tengo has shared their melancholic new single ‘Bleeding’, taken from their upcoming EP Sleepless Night and arrives is Far Out’s Track of the Day.

‘Bleeding’ is the only original track that features on the upcoming project which is set to be released on October 9th. The EP will see the band take on classics from iconic artists such as The Byrds, Bob Dylan, Ronnie Lane, The Delmore Brothers and The Flying Machine. The new single is a gorgeous slice of calm that sends the listener to a welcoming place of tranquillity thanks to Ira Kaplan’s soothing hushed vocals.

Given that the EP is titled Sleepless Night, the song couldn’t be all calm and late on in the track there is a nervy sound of a drone landing which adds a level of nervousness, a slight anxiety to the ambience which adds an extra layer to an otherwise serene three and a half minute listening experience.

According to a press statement, ‘Bleeding’ was recorded by Yo La Tengo’s James McNew in Hoboken, who also recorded album closer ‘Smile a Little Smile for Me’, originally written by The Flying Machine. The track is the perfect calming listen especially in the particular stressful climate we currently find ourselves in. ‘Bleeding’, it goes without saying, feels like a loving escape.

The band originally recorded the songs on Sleepless Night for an LP that was part of a limited-edition catalogue accompanying a retrospective for the Japanese artist Yoshitomo Nara at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Nara, a long-time Yo La Tengo fan, helped the band choose the songs for the project and also designed the cover art.

“To make the catalogue of his 2020 exhibit at LACMA more personal, the idea came up to include an LP of some of Nara’s favourite songs as part of a deluxe edition,” Yo La Tengo guitarist and vocalist Ira Kaplan explained in a statement.

“We were asked to provide one side of the LP (and that one track be a new composition), with the other side being another six songs selected by Nara, in their original versions,” Kaplan’s statement continued.

Take a few minutes out courtesy of Yo La Tengo’s ‘Bleeding’, below.