Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Woods)


Woods announce their return with new album 'Strange to Explain'


Brooklyn rock band Woods have announced that their first new album in three years, Strange to Explain, will be released in May through Woodsist.

The record, which will be the band’s 11th studio album to date, arrives shortly after band members Jeremy Earl and Jarvis Taveniere worked on David Berman’s final album, Purple Mountains, prior to the musician’s untimely death.

In what arrives as the band’s follow-up to 2017 effort Love Is Love, Woods have also announced their intentions to tour their new material in a string of dates which begin in June.

“We’ve been busy with other projects and life changes,” Earl told Fader when asked about the gap in between new albums. “Moving, working, fatherhood, adapting to our current environment. Time flies when you’re looking into your baby’s eyes. It’s a comfortable zone to be in and the break from writing was much needed.”

When discussing the creation of their new album Taveniere added: “The studio we worked in and lived at when we made the record is on a beach in Northern California, and it’s basically a beautiful old house converted into a professional recording studio. It meant we could approach it more like the earlier records, where we would turn Jeremy’s upstate NY house into a recording studio with whatever minimal gear we could afford.”

Alongside the new album news the band have shared ‘Where Do You Go When You Dream’, the first taster of what is to come. Stream the track, below.

Strange to Explain tracklisting:

01 Next to You and the Sea
02 Where Do You Go When You Dream?
03 Before They Pass By
04 Can’t Get Out
05 Strange to Explain
06 The Void
07 Just to Fall Asleep
08 Fell So Hard
09 Light of Day
10 Be There Still
11 Weekend Wind

Woods tour dates:

06-12-13 Sonoma, CA – Huichica Festival
06-15 Seattle, WA – The Crocodile
06-17 Portland, OR – Mississippi Studios
06-19 Los Angeles, CA – Zebulon
06-20 Los Angeles, CA – Getty Museum