Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Travis)


Travis announce new album '10 Songs' and share visuals for latest song 'A Ghost'


Scottish pop-rockers Travis are back with the first taste of new music of the year with their heartfelt new single ‘A Ghost’ which is taken from their upcoming LP 10 Songs which is out October 9th through BMG.

The video for the new release was made on an iPad by frontman Fran Healy during a period of self-isolation and directed alongside some help from his son, Clay, who lent a hand with the film’s cinematography.

Healy described the process, stating: “The video for ‘A Ghost’ started out as a mocked-up picture of me and 3 ghosts playing the last chorus of the song in a deserted alleyway. It looked cool so I took that image and back engineered a story out of it. Just when everything was ready to shoot, the world went into lockdown, so we had this great song with no way to make a video.”

Adding: “Frustrated and in an act of desperation, I decided to draw it. Before I was a singer in Travis I was a student at Glasgow School of Art so I am a good draughtsman, but I’d never done animation. I did a test to calculate how long it might take me. 16 hours for each, 10 seconds of footage. It worked out that it would take around 30 days which landed exactly on the deadline date. So I drew and drew and drew and drew. 2,500 drawings later, it was done.”

The frontman then continued: “One day, I was watching a sequence back and when it got to the end of what I had drawn, it flashed and went into live-action. It looked great. This was the moment I realised I could shoot the mock-up picture of me playing with my band of ghosts in the alleyway. This helped in 3 ways. 1. Filming the last 47 seconds would save me 10 days of drawing. 2. I could recruit my 14-year-old son, Clay as the cameraman.

“He has a drone camera so could shoot it remotely and could use it as part of his school video project 3. Most importantly, we could film it socially distant.  It was the most bizarre video shoot I have ever worked on. You realise how important proximity is to getting things done when it’s taken out of the equation. But we did it and it turned out great. Clay has to wait until we release the song to hand in his video project.”

Watch the stunning visuals and check out the tracklisting for 10 Songs, below.

Travis 10 Songs Tracklisting:

  1. Waving At The Window
  2. The Only Thing (feat. Susanna Hoffs)
  3. Valentine
  4. Butterflies
  5. A Million Hearts
  6. A Ghost
  7. All Fall Down
  8. Kissing In The Wind
  9. Nina’s Song
  10. No Love Lost