Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Bent Arcana)


Oh Sees’ John Dwyer has formed a new band called 'Bent Arcana'

The Oh Sees man, John Dwyer, has announced the formation of his new band Bent Arcana.

The line-up for the band consists of modular synthesist Kyp Malone from TV on the Radio, drummer, percussionist, and vocalist Ryan Sawyer, electric and double bassist Peter Kerlin, saxophonist Brad Caulkins, keyboardist Tom Dolas, guitarist Marcos Rodriguez, violinist Laena “Geronimo” Myers-Ionita, tenor saxophonist Joce Soubiran, and percussionist Andres Renteria.

The new band is “very much on the ECM / ’70s hard fusion / prog-kraut tip,” according to a statement from Dwyer. Bent Arcana are releasing their self-titled debut LP on August 21 (via Castle Face) and have shared their debut single ‘The Gate’, which you can listen to now.

Dwyer had this to say about the new project: “This is the first interstellar transmission from five days of electrified & improvised sessions recorded at Stu-Stu-Studio, edited down to 40 minutes for your earballs,” Dwyer said in his statement.

“Bent Arcana is the inceptive chapter in what I hope to be several releases showcasing these types of off-the-cuff musical compositions. So you can try your fry on and turn off. It is a many-pronged weapon, swung by the spontaneous sentinel.”

Bent Arcana Tracklist:

01 The Gate
02 Outré Sorcellerie
03 Misanthrophe Gets Lunch
04 Mimi
05 Oblivion Sigil
06 Sprites