Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Press)


Thurston Moore announces new album and shares lead single ‘Hashish’


Former Sonic Youth guitarist, Thurston Moore, has announced the impending release of his new album By the Fire.

The new record, which is due out September 25 on his very own Daydream Library Series label, features a number of collaborations which includes My Bloody Valentine member Deb Googe on bass and backing vocals.

Elsewhere, in terms of personnel, Moore has recruited James Sedwardson on guitar, Negativland member Jon Leidecker who is on electronics duty and, of course, Sonic Youth’s Steve Shelley arrives on the drums and is splitting the workload with Jem Doulton.

To coincide with the new album news, Moore has shared the project’s lead single ‘Hashish’. The track, according to a press release, has been described as “an ode to the narcotic of love in our shared responsibility to each other during isolation.”

The new single has also arrived with the accompanying visuals, a music video made up of footage from Thurston Moore Group’s European tour which have been merged with clips recorded at Moore’s home during the lockdown.

See Far Out’s Track of the Day, below.