Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Alamy)


The Doors announce 50th anniversary reissue of 'LA Woman'


Legendary psychedelic blues band The Doors have announced a deluxe reissue of their final LP with Jim Morrison, LA Woman, in honour of its 50th anniversary.

The deluxe edition of the album will include a remastered version of the original album by longtime collaborator Bruce Botnick, bonus material, studio outtakes, and the original mix of the album on vinyl.

More than two hours of additional recordings, including previously unreleased songs and rehearsals taken from the LA Woman sessions, will also be included. The session tapes are described as “allowing the listener to experience the progression of each song as it developed in the studio,” according to the album’s press release.

LA Woman was released just three months before Morrison’s death at his new residency in Paris in 1971. The other members released the album Other Voices that same year, featuring Robby Krieger and Ray Manzarek on vocals, and the trio released one more album, Full Circle, the following year before deciding to officially disband (the less said about An American Prayer, the better). As such, LA Woman is often viewed as the last true Doors album.

Check out the full tracklisting of the 50th-anniversary deluxe edition of LA Woman down below. The reissue is set to drop in early December.

LA Woman 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

Disc One: Original Stereo Mix Remastered

  1. “The Changeling”
  2. “Love Her Madly”
  3. “Been Down So Long”
  4. “Cars Hiss By My Window”
  5. “L.A. Woman”
  6. “L’America”
  7. “Hyacinth House”
  8. “Crawling King Snake”
  9. “The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)”
  10. “Riders On The Storm”

Bonus Tracks

  1. “Hyacinth House” – Demo
  2. “Riders On The Storm” – Sunset Sound Version *

Disc Two: L.A. Woman Sessions, Part 1

  1. “The Changeling” *
  2. “Love Her Madly” *
  3. “Riders On The Storm” *
  4. “L.A. Woman” (Part 1) *

Disc Three: L.A. Woman Sessions, Part 2

  1. “L.A. Woman” (Part 2) *
  2. “She Smells So Nice” *
  3. “Rock Me Baby” *
  4. “Mr. Mojo Risin’” *
  5. “Baby Please Don’t Go” *
  6. “L.A. Woman” (Part 3) *
  7. “Been Down So Long” *
  8. “Get Out Of My Life Woman” *
  9. “Crawling King Snake” *
  10. “The Bastard Son Of Jimmy & Mama Reed (Cars Hiss By My Window)” *
  11. “Been Down So Long” *
  12. “Mystery Train” *
  13. “The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)” *


Side One

  1. “The Changeling”
  2. “Love Her Madly”
  3. “Been Down So Long”
  4. “Cars Hiss By My Window”
  5. “L.A. Woman”

Side Two

  1. “L’America”
  2. “Hyacinth House”
  3. “Crawling King Snake”
  4. “The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)”
  5. “Riders On The Storm”