Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: YouTube)


The Cure's Roger O'Donnell releases new video for 'December'

Roger O’Donnell, the famed keyboard player of The Cure, has released the video for his new song ‘December’.

The track, taken from his recent solo project 2 Ravens, first arrived digitally via 99X/10 Records and Caroline International last month. The vinyl release, however, will be released this summer on 24th July.

Sitting neatly as the first piece on ‘2 Ravens’, the track entwines the lighter touch of piano with the sombre notes and dispositions of the entire project and, according to O’Donnell, he took strong inspiration from Alfred Hitchcock’s Vertigo.

“Growing older is easy, accepting it is sometimes/always more difficult,” O’Donnell said of the song. “Becoming comfortable with who you are and what you look like as the leaves fall from the tree can be a dark journey but not accepting it and turning your back or fighting it is to miss everything that the autumn/winter of your life brings.”

The album provides a personal insight into Roger’s world and the influences on his life of rural England. It was written in December 2016 during a period of solitude and reflection after Roger’s yearlong tour with The Cure. The starkness and bleak nature of the countryside weighing heavily on the compositions.

See the visuals, below.

Tracklisting for 2 Ravens:

1. December
2. An Old Train (feat. Jennifer Pague)
3. 2 Ravens
4. The Haunt (feat. Jennifer Pague)
5. On The Wing
6. The Hearts Fall
7. Don’t Tell Me… (feat. Jennifer Pague)
8. I’ll Say Goodnight (feat. Jennifer Pague)