Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Olivia Bee)


Smashing Pumpkins to release double album 'CYR'


The Smashing Pumpkins are back with a brand new double album CYR which is set to be released on November 27th.

The band, who formed 32 years ago, reunited with founding members James Iha, and Jimmy Chamberlin in 2018 in order to record the band’s tenth studio album Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun, have given their huge fanbase even more reason to smile.

Billy Corgan confirmed in February that the band hoped to release a double album this year in what he has called their “first real album” since the band’s reunion, adding that it is “classic, ‘Let’s throw it all at the wall and see what happens’ type of Pumpkins record.”

Corgan continued to detail the work in a new interview with Tennessean, explaining: “I’ve been working on it for over a year. It currently is at 21 songs, and we’re going to release it as a double this year. This is the first album since the album that came out in 2000, Machina, where me, James [Iha] and Jimmy [Chamberlin] worked on something for a very long time. It’s got a greater conceptual base, and it’s probably a wider swath of music.

“The last one was kind of like, ‘Let’s just jump in, record some stuff real fast, and let it be what it is…’ so I’m excited about this, because we’re kind of back in the lane of taking a risk, and trying to bring something new to the table, as opposed to just aping what we’re known for.”

The news of the double album comes just a few weeks after the ’90s heroes released the title track from their forthcoming record ‘CYR’ and ‘The Colour Of Love’, which was the first hint we got to hear from their upcoming eleventh album.

Check out the tracklisting below.

The Smashing Pumpkins ‘CYR’ Tracklist:

  1. ‘The Colour of Love’
  2. ‘Confessions of a Dopamine Addict’
  3. ‘Cyr’
  4. ‘Dulcet in E’
  5. ‘Wrath’
  6. ‘Ramona’
  7. ‘Anno Satana’
  8. ‘Birch Grove’
  9. ‘Wyttch’
  10. ‘Starrcraft’
  11. ‘Purple Blood’
  12. ‘Save Your Tears’
  13. ‘Telegenix’
  14. ‘Black Forest, Black Hills’
  15. ‘Adrennalynne’
  16. ‘Haunted’
  17. ‘The Hidden Sun’
  18. ‘Schaudenfreud’
  19. ‘Tyger, Tyger’
  20. ‘Minerva’