Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Press)


Sleaford Mods announce new album 'Spare Ribs'

Sleaford Mods have announced details of their sixth record, entitled Spare Ribs, which is set to arrive on January 15th next year through Rough Trade.

The record is the follow up to 2019’s Eton Alive and has been previewed with the release of the brand new single ‘Mork N Mindy’ which features Billy No Mates. The Nottingham duo gave the track it’s first airing on Thursday evening when they made their US TV debut on Late Night With Seth Myers, live from the 100 Club in London.

“Mork n Mindy is the sound of the central heating and the dying smells of Sunday dinner in a house on an estate in 1982,” vocalist Jason Williamson said on the track. “Concrete, dinted garages, nicotine. Where beauty mainly exists in small cracks on the shell of your imagination. Captured perfectly in Ben Wheatley’s video for the song,” he added.

Williamson also discussed the upcoming album Spare Ribs in a statement, “Our lives are expendable under most governments, secondary under a system of monetary rule. We are stock if you like, parts on a shelf for the purposes of profit, discarded at any moment if fabricated or non-fabricated crisis threatens productivity. This is constant, obviously and notably in the current pandemic. The masses cannot be present in the minds of ill-fitting leaders, surely? Or else the realisation of their catastrophic management would cripple their minds.

“Much like the human body can still survive without a full set of ribs we are all ‘spare ribs’, preservation for capitalism, through ignorance and remote rule, available for parts.”

Check out the tracklisting for Spare Ribs below and watch their performance from Late Night With Seth Myers.

Spare Ribs Tracklist

  1. ‘The New Brick’
  2. ‘Shortcummings’
  3. ‘Nudge It’ (featuring Amy Taylor of Amyl and the Sniffers)
  4. ‘Elocution’
  5. ‘Out There’
  6. ‘Glimpses’
  7. ‘Top Room’
  8. ‘Mork n Mindy’ (Features Billy Nomates)
  9. ‘Spare Ribs’
  10. ‘All Day Ticket’
  11. ‘Thick Ear’
  12. ‘I Don’t Rate You’
  13. ‘Fishcakes’