Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Alamy)


Samuel L. Jackson to receive honorary Oscar


Despite having never won an Oscar throughout his illustrious career, Samuel L.Jackson is among a number of actors to receive an honorary Oscar at the Academy’s Governors Awards in 2022. 

In a statement Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President David Rubin, said of next year’s list of award recipients, “We are thrilled to present this year’s Governors Awards to four honourees who have had a profound impact on both film and society”. As well as Samuel L.Jackson, the list also includes Elaine May and Liv Ullmann, with Danny Glover being awarded the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award. 

Continuing with his statement, Rubin commented on the nominated actors, noting: “Sam Jackson is a cultural icon whose dynamic work has resonated across genres and generations and audiences worldwide, while Elaine May’s bold, uncompromising approach to filmmaking, as a writer, director and actress, reverberates as loudly as ever with movie lovers”.

It will be the first Governors Awards since the 2020 edition was cancelled due to the ongoing Coronavirus pandemic, where viewership of the Oscars ceremony also saw depleted viewing figures, dropping by 58% on the previous year. 

On Liv Ulman and Danny Glover’s inclusion, Rubin added: “Liv Ullmann’s bravery and emotional transparency has gifted audiences with deeply affecting screen portrayals, and Danny Glover’s decades-long advocacy for justice and human rights reflects his dedication to recognising our shared humanity on and off the screen”.

The 2020 Oscar ceremony was one marked with great groundbreaking achievements, even if it was also marred by lack of viewership, perhaps due to the depleted interest in the film industry due to the pandemic. Nomadland, Chloé Zhao’s epic portrait of contemporary America was the big winner, taking home best picture, best leading actress, and most importantly, a directorial win for Zhao, making her the second woman ever, and the first woman of colour to win Best Director.