Radiohead, The Cure, The Zombies and more inducted into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame


The inductees for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2019 have been released.

The likes of Radiohead, the Cure, Janet Jackson, the Zombies, Stevie Nicks, Roxy Music and Def Leppard have all been chosen for the 34th Annual ceremony.

The event has been scheduled to take place on March 29 at the Barclays Centre in Brooklyn, New York. Artists are eligible for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after the release of their first album or single.

The aforementioned group of artists follow the likes of Nina Simone, the Cars, Bon Jovi and Dire Straits who were all inducted last year. Radiohead, who have finally made the cut, was nominated last year but missed out. At the time,  Jonny Greenwood remained unphased by their exclusion, saying: “I don’t care, maybe it’s a cultural thing that I don’t really understand” after the band missed out. 

“Congratulations to our newest inductees and welcome to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame,” the organisation said in an announcement. “We can’t wait to celebrate your induction at this year’s ceremony.” 

Stevie Nicks, who was inducted with Fleetwood Mac in 1998, becomes the only woman to enter the Hall of Fame twice. “I have a lot to say about this,” Nicks says in a statement, “but I will save those words for later. For now I will just say, I have been in a band since 1968. To be recognised for my solo work makes me take a deep breath and smile. It’s a glorious feeling.”

For the Zombies, who have been eligible for the Hall of Fame since 1998, an overwhelming sense of relief was apparent for member Colin Blunstone who told Rolling Stone: “You do start to doubt that it could happen.”

He added: “I’ve tried to be fairly philosophical about it and tell myself that if we don’t get inducted, it’s just a bit of fun. Don’t take it too seriously. But of course when you’re actually inducted, everything changes. You think, ‘This is a career-defining [and] life-defining moment.’”