Subscribe to our newsletter

Prince's estate announces new song and album 'Piano & A Microphone: 1983'


On what would have been Prince’s 60th birthday, his estate have announced the release of a live album Piano & A Microphone: 1983.

The album, in conjunction with Warner Bros. is out September 21st and was recorded during a rehearsal at Prince’s home studio in Chanhassen, Minnesota in 1983.

To accompany the news of the record, Prince’s estate have released the version of ‘Mary Don’t You Weep’ which appears on the album. On top of that, the track will also feature in Spike Lee’s BlacKkKlansman.

According to the press release, the album also includes a cover of Joni Mitchell’s ‘A Case of You’ and different versions of iconic track ‘Purple Rain’ which, at the time of recording, was then unreleased.

Piano & A Microphone: 1983 tracklist:
1 – 17 Days
2 – Purple Rain
3 – A Case Of You
4 – Mary Don’t You Weep
5 – Strange Relationship
6 – International Lover
7 – Wednesday
8 – Cold Coffee & Cocaine
9 – Why The Butterflies