Subscribe to our newsletter

Credit: Alamy


A 'new' unearthed album by Prince set to be released


For the first time, a completed version of Prince’s shelved album Welcome 2 America will finally be available this summer.

The record is being released by his estate, who have previously decided against sharing unheard songs by The Purple One. Instead, they have focused on re-releasing classic albums since his death in 2016. The estate has also previously shared a compilation record entitled Originals, which brought together demos by Prince of tracks that he gave away to other artists.

From 2010 to 2012, Prince played 80 dates of the Welcome 2 America tour but never released it. In their announcement, the estate labelled the upcoming release as a document of “Prince’s concerns, hopes and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice.”

They go on to note how the record lands on “golden parachutes, the superficial nature of social media, reality TV-fueled celebrity culture, and corporate monopolies in the music industry, ultimately concluding that America is the ‘Land of the free/home of the slave,'” the estate said.

There’s also a quote about the album from the great man he wrote before his death. “The world is fraught with misin4mation. George Orwell’s vision of the future is here. We need 2 remain steadfast in faith in the trying times ahead,” Prince wrote.

The album arrives on July 30th, and the subject will be delved into on CBS 60 Minutes this Sunday (April 11th). The Deluxe Edition of the record feature 12 studio tracks, plus an unreleased live video shot in Los Angeles during his 21 Nite Stand.

Check out the tracklist, below.

Welcome 2 America tracklist:

1. ‘Welcome 2 America’
2. ‘Running Game’ (Son of a Slave Master)
3. ‘Born 2 Die’
4. ‘1000 Light Years From Here’
5. ‘Hot Summer’
6. ‘Stand Up and B Strong’ (Soul Asylum cover)
7. ‘Check The Record’
8. ‘Same Page, Different Book’
9. ‘When She Comes’
10. ‘1010’ (Rin Tin Tin)
11. ‘Yes’
12. ‘One Day We Will All B Free’