Credit: Press

Paul Weller shares peaceful new single ‘Village’

Paul Weller has shared the peaceful new single ‘Village’ which offers up some momentary bliss during these difficult times.

The dreamy number which sees Weller link up with former Style Council member, Mick Talbot who features on keys, is taken from The Modfather’s upcoming 15th solo record On Sunset. The album is set to be released on 12th June via Polydor.

Speaking about the new track, Weller had this to say: ’Village’ is a dreamy and beautiful meditation sung from the decidedly un-rock’n’roll perspective of a man who is entirely happy with his state in life.”

“It’s a response to being told that we’ve all got to explore the Amazon and climb Everest to make our lives complete. And there’s a guy who says, fuck all that, I’ve got heaven around me.” A poignant message at this time more than most.

The former Jam leader is set to undertake two mammoth UK tours in support of the record as he had already announced further dates before having to reschedule shows due to the current climate so he will be hitting the road later this year as well as next March.

Listen to ‘Village’ and check out Weller’s upcoming tour dates below.

OCTOBER 2020

Sun October 25 2020 – Belfast, Ulster Hall
Mon October 26 2020 – Dublin, Olympia Theatre
Tue October 27 2020 – Dublin, Olympia Theatre
Thu October 29 2020 – Plymouth, Plymouth Pavilions
Fri October 30 2020 – Southampton, O2 Guildhall Southampton
Sat October 31 2020 – Brighton, Brighton Centre

NOVEMBER 2020

Mon November 02 2020 – Hull, Hull Bonus Arena
Tue November 03 2020 – York, York Barbican
Thu November 05 2020 – Leicester, De Montfort Hall
Fri November 06 2020 – Leicester, De Montfort Hall
Sat November 07 2020 – Blackburn, King Georges Hall
Mon November 09 2020 – Carlisle Sands Centre
Tue November 10 2020 – Manchester, O2 Apollo
Thu November 12 2020 – Dundee, Caird Hall
Fri November 13 2020 – Newcastle Upon Tyne, O2 City Hall
Sat November 14 2020 – Newcastle Upon Tyne, O2 City Hall
Mon November 16 2020 – Edinburgh, Usher Hall
Tue November 17 2020 – Bradford, St Georges Hall
Thu November 19 2020 – London, O2 Academy Brixton
Fri November 20 2020 – London, O2 Forum Kentish Town
Sat November 21 2020 – London, O2 Forum

MARCH 2021

Fri March 05 2021 – Cambridge, Corn Exchange
Sat March 06 2021 – Norwich, Norwich U.E.A.
Sun March 07 2021 – Southend, Cliffs Pavilion
Tue March 09 2021 – Llandudno, Venue Cymru
Thu March 11 2021 – Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough Town Hall
Fri March 12 2021 – Glasgow, Barrowland
Sat March 13 2021 – Aberdeen, Music Hall
Mon March 15 2021 – Stoke, Victoria Hall
Tue March 16 2021 – Liverpool, Eventim Olympia
Wed March 17 2021 – Oxford, New Theatre
Fri March 19 2021 – Margate, Margate Winter Gardens
Sat March 20 2021 – Portsmouth, Guildhall

Subscribe to our newsletter
Delivering curated content