Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Takahiro Kyono)

Neil Young’s unreleased album 'Homegrown' to be released in 2020

After 45 years locked away, Neil Young is preparing to release his acoustic album Homegrown next year.

Young, who recorded the album in 1974 and 1975, announced via his archives website and shared the information with a video showing his longtime producer John Hanlon working on the album.

Homegrown will be our first release in 2020, sounding great in vinyl — as it was meant to be… Made in the mid-nineteen seventies!” Young wrote on his Neil Young Archives website.

“Mr J. Hanlon is seen here mastering Homegrown in an all analogue chain,” he added. “This is the way records were made when we started out. This is the way we made them sound great. We were told that this was impossible now, the Homegrown tapes were too damaged to use; we had to use Digital. We didn’t agree. We did not accept. We painstakingly restored the analogue masters of Homegrown.”

The deeply personal record, which chronicles Young’s feelings on his struggling relationship with actress Carrie Snodgress. Discussing the album with Rolling Stone in 1975, “It was a little too personal…it scared me” before adding that: “Homegrown is the missing link between HarvestComes a TimeOld Ways and Harvest Moon.”

Click here to see the full announcement.

Rumoured Homegrown tracklisting:

Side A

  1. Separate Ways
  2. Try
  3. Mexico
  4. Love is a Rose
  5. Homegrown
  6. Florida
  7. Kansas

Side B

  1. We Don’t Smoke It
  2. White Line
  3. Vacancy
  4. Little Wing
  5. Star of Bethlehem