Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Warner/Reprise)


Neil Young to release New York show from 1974 as a live bootleg

Neil Young has been nothing short of prolific throughout 2020 and he has got no plans of slowing down anytime soon, his most recent announcement confirming that he is set to release one of his most iconic concerts as a live bootleg.

The set in question is from 1974 when Young dropped by New York City’s The Bottom Line and couldn’t resist the urge to take to the stage himself. Young ended up playing a set packed of new songs to a room of people who couldn’t believe what they were witnessing during a late-night show that would ultimately become On the Beach. “In my mind, it’s a hazy memory, but this moment really captures the essence of where I was in 1974,” Young recalled on his Neil Young Archives website.

“Folks at The Bottom Lineheard seven new songs for the first time,” he added. I just remember I was 24 years old, bare and letting it all out,” he continued. “Two months later, the album ‘On The Beach’ was released, including songs I played that night — ‘Ambulance Blues,’ ‘Revolution Blues,’ ‘On The Beach’ and ‘Motion Pictures.’

According to Young, the set, titled The Bottom Line – Citizen Cane Jr. Blues, will be out in 2021. Young is also set to release his Archives Volume 2 box set on November 20th. The release is split across 10 mammoth discs and kickstarts with material Young recorded shortly after the release of his now-iconic 1972 album Harvest. From there, the box set chronicle the rock star’s career with the inclusion of his Asian and European tours with Crazy Horse in 1976.

Check out the setlist for Young’s show at The Bottom Line, below.

Neil Young The Bottom Line Tracklisting:

  1. ‘Citizen Cane Jr. Blues’
  2. ‘Long May You Run’
  3. ‘Greensleeves’
  4. ‘Ambulance Blues’
  5. ‘Helpless’
  6. ‘Revolution Blues’
  7. ‘On The Beach’
  8. ‘Roll Another Number’
  9. ‘Motion Pictures’
  10. ‘Pardon My Heart’
  11. ‘Dance, Dance, Dance’