(Credit: Graham Berry)


Neil Young’s unreleased 1975 album 'Homegrown' finally to set be released


Neil Young‘s unreleased and long lost 1975 album, Homegrown, is finally set for release this summer, 45 years after the musician first recorded the material.

The 12-track record will arrive into the world on June 19th via Reprise Records. Young describes the album as being “the unheard bridge between Harvest and Comes A Time” and explains that some of the tracks from the project would have been released on other records. However,m the album has never been heard in its entirety.

‘Love Is A Rose,’ ‘Homegrown,’ ‘White Line,’ ‘Little Wing’ and ‘Star Of Bethlehem’ — subsequently would all go on to feature on future Young records but seven of the tracks would remain on the shelf.

Young confirmed the release in a lengthy statement, writing: “I apologise. This album Homegrown should have been there for you a couple of years after Harvest. It’s the sad side of a love affair. The damage done. The heartache. I just couldn’t listen to it. I wanted to move on. So I kept it to myself, hidden away in the vault, on the shelf, in the back of my mind… but I should have shared it. It’s actually beautiful. That’s why I made it in the first place.

“Sometimes life hurts. You know what I mean. This is the one that got away. Recorded in analogue in 1974 and early 1975 from the original master tapes and restored with love and care by John Hanlon.

“Levon Helm is drumming on some tracks, Karl T Himmel on others, Emmylou Harris singing on one, Homegrown contains a narration, several acoustic solo songs never even published or heard until this release and some great songs played with a great band of my friends, including Ben Keith — steel and slide — Tim Drummond — bass and Stan Szelest — piano. Anyway, it’s coming your way in 2020, the first release from our archive in the new decade. Come with us into 2020 as we bring the past.”