Subscribe to our newsletter


Nadine Shah announces new album with delicious video for ‘Ladies For Babies (Goats For Love)’


The brilliant Nadine Shah has come back with a double dose of news today as she not only drops the delicious new video for ‘Ladies For Babies (Goats For Love)’, but also reveals a brand new album.

The new album Kitchen Sink is due for release on June 5th via Infectious and looks to be one of Shah’s most considered pieces of work following 2017’s Mercury Music Prize-nominated * Holiday Destination*.

The new single ‘Ladies For Babies (Goats For Love)’ is a testament to that. Shah said of the track, “My brother was making a comment on sexism when he was younger and made a painting of a man embracing a goat with the phrase “ladies for babies, goats for love”. It always stuck with me, I guess cause it sounded daft but really because even back then I knew its true meaning and intent.

“I was also thinking about a lot of the songs I would have been listening to at the time, songs I sang along to innocently without question of the meaning. ‘Ladies for Babies’ is a direct response to ‘All That She Wants’ by Ace of Base.”

“I reversed the gender and I poke fun at a husband who expects nothing more from me, as a wife, than to carry his child and perform the role of the obeying subservient trophy wife. Only this time the mistress is a farmyard animal. A lot of my album explores subjects of sexism and tradition. It’s not all about beastiality, I promise.”

Watch the brilliant new video for ‘Ladies For Babies (Goats For Love)’ below:

Kitchen Sink tracklisting:

  1. Club Cougar
  2. Ladies For Babies (Goats For Love)
  3. Buckfast
  4. Dillydally
  5. Trad
  6. Kitchen Sink
  7. Kite
  8. Ukrainian Wine
  9. Wasps Nest
  10. Walk
  11. Prayer Mat