Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Modeselektor)


Modeselektor announce new mixtape 'Extended'


The German electronic duo Modeselektor have announced a mammoth 27-track mixtape entitled Extended.

A favourite of DJs and hipsters alike, including super-fan Thom Yorke, Modeselektor have been churning out albums, EPs, remixes, and compilations since the late ’90s.

Originally part of the German techno scene that sprang out of Berlin in the early ’90s, Modeselektor have since worked their remix magic on tracks by Bjork, Roots Manuva, and Radiohead, fittingly.

It’s hard to parse what kind of sounds will come out of Extended, especially since its teaser video is a dense sprawl of clashing sounds and different beats fighting for supremacy. If nothing else, Modeselektor have primed us for chaotic genre clashes that sound perfectly made for dance clubs and raves, and from the bits and pieces that get stuffed into the 42-second preview video, it sounds like we can expect just that from their latest release.

It is fun to imagine what the content of certain songs are going to be with song titles like ‘Butlin’s Minehead Institute’, ‘Bangface’ and ‘Stadtschloss’. I’m personally looking forward to whatever ‘Cthulhu Drums’ sounds like, if only for the absurd image that it creates in my head.

You can check out the preview video below. Extended is set to be released on April 9th. The tracklist, all 27 of them, are also listed below.

Extended Tracklisting:

1. Minibus
2. Dentist
3. Sekt um 12
4. Tacken
5. Hood feat. Jackson & his Computerband
6. Rainy
7. Hyena Dancehall
8. Butlin’s Minehead Interlude
9. Bangface
10. 1000 Kicks
11. Puls
12. Soda
14. Kupfer
15. U8
16. Ohm
17. The Germs
18. Stadtschloss
19. Disc
20. Movement feat. Paul St Hilaire
21. Keller
22. Mean
23. KlangKrieg
24. Cthulhu Drums
25. Bilbao
26. Lockdown
27. Devotion is such a strong word