Subscribe to our newsletter

Credit: Martin Schuman


Mercury Prize 2020: Michael Kiwanuka wins for 'Kiwanuka'

Michael Kiwanuka has won the Mercury Music Prize for 2020 with his incredible album Kiwanuka. It was presented this year by Annie Mac on BBC’s magazine programme The One Show.

This year’s Mercury Music Prize has been unprecedented, much like everything else this year, and the event, which is normally a positively glitzy affair, has this year been reduced to something a little less rock ‘n’ roll—The One Show. But that hasn’t meant that the esteem of the prize has lost any shine and Kiwanuka will be thrilled to have received the prestigious award for their acclaimed album.

The Mercury Music Prize is a badge of honour that very few artists can claim, winners including Primal Scream, PJ Harvey and Arctic Monkeys among many. A host of incredible acts have received the award before and it means that an even brighter future lay ahead for Kiwanuka, with the prize money allowing the musician to continue making music. Judging by the worldwide acclaim UK rapper Dave now receives following his win last year, they’re going to need their shades.

The judging panel this year consists of musicians, journalists, industry figures and radio presenters which included two brand new faces this year in three-time nominee Anna Calvi and DJ Gemma Cairney. Other judges on the list include Jorja Smith, Supergrass frontman Gaz Coombes, and jazz singer Jamie Cullum. Their decision was unanimous in picking Kiwanuka the musician’s third album.

Following the announcement, Kiwanuka joined The One Show for the first interview with his newly acquired prize. “Music and art means so much to me and it’s all I really wanted to do and this award celebrates that,” the musician said.

Mercury Prize 2020 winner:

Michael Kiwanuka – Kiwanuka

Mercury Prize 2020 Nominees:

  • Anna Meredith – Fibs
  • Charli XCX – How I’m Feeling Now
  • Dua Lipa – Future Nostalgia
  • Georgia – Seeking Thrills
  • Kano – Hoodies All Summer
  • Lanterns on the Lake – Spook the Herd
  • Laura Marling – Song for Our Daughter
  • Moses Boyd – Dark Matter
  • Porridge Radio – Every Bad
  • Sports Team – Deep Down Happy
  • Stormzy – Heavy is the Head