Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Press)


Local Natives share soundtrack EP from 'The Shrink Next Door'


Local Natives have unveiled their new covers EP, Music From The Pen Gala 1983’. Recorded for the upcoming Apple TV series The Shrink Next Door, starring Paul Rudd and Will Ferrell, the record features the indie-rockers covering the likes of Roxy Music, Michael McDonald, 10cc, and Gerry Rafferty.

As well as providing the soundtrack for the show, Local Natives will also perform in-character as the house band during an episode in which Rudd and Ferrell attend the Pen Gala. Taylor Rice, Kelcey Ayer, Ryan Hahn, Matt Frazier and Nik Ewing will perform some of the tracks from the EP for their glamorous fictional audience.

Music From The Pen Gala 1983 follows the release of last year’s Sour Lemon EP, which saw Local Natives collaborate with Sharon Van Etten on the stand-out track, ‘Lemon’. Their last full-length venture came in 2019, with the release of Violet Street.

Back in July, Local Natives also remixed Manchester Orchestra’s ‘Bed Head’, removing the original track’s glitch-rock inflexions and replacing them with beach-ready breakbeats and ambient loops of the echo-laden piano. You can check out the full track-list for Music From The Pen Gala 1983 below.

News of Local Natives involvement with The Shrink Next Door follows Will Ferrell’s announcement that he declined a $29million sum to star in a sequel to the Christmas classic, Elf, on the basis that he didn’t believe in the story. The Hollywood star explained that the follow-up to the 2003 film, which raked in a hefty $222million at the box office and continues to air around the world year after year, was too similar to the original.

Paul Rudd, Meanwhile, was recently named Sexiest Man Alive for 2021 by People magazine. The 52-year-old actor, who seemingly hasn’t aged a day since he turned 30, is known for his role in Anchorman and, more recently, for his portrayal of Ant-Man in Marvel’s Cinematic Universe.

See the new clip and tracklisting, below.

Local Natives, ‘Music From The Pen Gala 1983’ tracklist:

  1. ‘More Than This’ (Roxy Music cover)
  2. ‘I’m Not in Lov’e (10cc cover)
  3. ‘Right Down the Line’ (Gerry Rafferty cover)
  4. ‘I Keep Forgettin’’ (Every Time You’re Near) (Michael McDonald cover)