Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Raph PH)

Iggy Pop, Elvis Costello and more join forces on Mose Allison tribute album


Iggy Pop, Elvis Costello and more have teamed up to contribute to a new tribute album for jazz musician Mose Allison.

The record, If You’re Going to the City: A Tribute to Mose Allison, sees Iggy Pop put his spin on ‘If You’re Going to the City’ while the likes of Costello, Frank Black, Chrissie Hynde and Fiona Apple, who is performing with the Tippo Allstars, all add their own unique style to album.

With all proceeds being donated to Sweet Relief, a non-profit charity that helps musicians in need, the album is being released through Fat Possum on November 29th.

Below, view the tracklist and listen to two songs by Iggy Pop and Frank Black.

If You’re Going to the City: A Tribute to Mose Allison:

  1. Taj Mahal – “Your Mind Is On Vacation”
  2. Robbie Fulks – “My Brain”
  3. Jackson Browne – “If You Live”
  4. The Tippo Allstars ft. Fiona Apple – “Your Molecular Structure”
  5. Ben Harper and Charlie Musselwhite – “Nightclub”
  6. Chrissie Hynde – “Stop This World”
  7. Iggy Pop – “If You’re Going to the City”
  8. Bonnie Raitt – “Everybody’s Crying Mercy”
  9. Loudon Wainwright III – “Ever Since the World Ended”
  10. Richard Thompson – “Parchman Farm”
  11. Peter Case – “I Don’t Worry About a Thing”
  12. Dave Alvin and Phil Alvin – “Wild Man On the Loose”
  13. Anything Mose! – “The Way of the World”
  14. Frank Black – “Numbers on Paper”
  15. Amy Allison with Elvis Costello – “Monsters of the Id”