Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Omnivore Recordings)

Posthumous Harry Nilsson album 'Losst and Founnd' set for release


Omnivore Recordings has announced a forthcoming release of Losst and Founnd, the posthumous Harry Nilsson album.

Nilsson, who first earned major commercial success in the early 1970s, went on to release 13 hugely popular studio albums along with numerous different soundtracks and compilation albums before his untimely death in 1994.

The musician went on to have a huge effect on those around him and, when The Beatles sat down for a press conference in 1968 to be asked what their favourite American group, their answer of “Nilsson” further propelled his fame even further.

Now, a team of Mark Hudson, drummer Jim Keltner, Van Dyke Parks and Nilsson’s son, Kiefo, have been working on recordings dating back to the time around Nilsson’s death in 1994. The new album, Losst and Founnd, will be released on November 22nd.

According to Nilsson’s son, Kiefo, Losst and Founnd is “a good representation of what my dad was doing and where his artistry was at this point,” he said in an interview with the Washington Post.

According to Omnivore, producer Mark Hudson has written a brief letter to Nilsson in the album’s liner notes, it reads:

“Dear Harry,

“It’s been a little over 25 years since we’ve had one of “our conversations” and I can’t tell you how much I miss your wisdom, humor, passion, stories, and most of all… your music… Anyway, I finally finished the record we were working on… All of your ideas I would write down, and I have put them into this project… Making this album was a dream come true for me. I promised you we would finish it and get it out there one day and that day has finally come!”

To preview its release, Omnivore Recordings have released ‘Lost and Found’ and ‘U.C.L.A.’ as a preview of the record. Stream both tracks over at Rolling Stone.

Losst and Founnd Tracklist:
01 Lost and Found
02 Woman Oh Woman
03 U.C.L.A.
04 Hi-Heel Sneakers/Rescue Boy Medley
05 Lullabye
06 Animal Farm
07 Listen, the Snow Is Falling
08 Try
09 Love Is the Answer
10 Yo Dodger Blue
11 What Does a Woman See in a Man