Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Press)


Goat Girl share new song 'Badibaba'


Goat Girl have shared their spooky new single ‘Badibaba’.

The English band are gearing up to release the follow up to their acclaimed eponymous 2018 debut and have shared the final teaser from their upcoming record, On All Fours, before it is available for fans to devour on January 29th through Rough Trade.

The track takes a gloomy, sinister look at the situation regarding the losing battle with climate change. Goat Girl metaphorically uses this to examine how we deal with life’s obstacles as individuals.

The hook-laden chorus sees the band dejectedly sing, “Tearing up and burning down, leave all sadness underground, Shove it somewhere we won’t see, Turn our mess into debris.”

According to Goat Girl singer/guitarist L.E.D., ‘Badibaba’ deals with “environmental catastrophe and the pessimism and self-destruction that this causes to the human spirit”. Meanwhile, Cream added: “It touches on how the Earth’s existence is controlled by exploitative systems, and the feeling of existential helplessness this induces.”

Although there is dark lyricism everywhere throughout the track, ‘Badibaba’, is an incredibly catchy effort from the South Londoners. Whilst it’s not exactly a form of escapism from the world turning to shit right now, its a hauntingly enchanting piece of music that gets better and better with every single listen. At first, it does take a little while to get to grips with, but it’s worth endeavouring with for the pay-off.

Goat Girl have accompanied the new track with an equally eerie video directed by Toby and Ethan Evans-Jesra. The band have also shared brand new tour dates for later in the year, which you can see below.

Goat Girl tour dates

14 Bristol Trinity Centre
15 London Islington Assembly Hall
16 Birmingham Mama Roux
18 Dublin Whelan’s
20 Liverpool Phase One
21 Glasgow SWG3
22 Manchester Gorilla
24 Brighton Concorde 2
25 Southampton Loft