Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Amy Heycock)


Gang of Youths drop surprise new EP 'Total Serene'

Gang of Youths - 'Serene' EP

Multi-cultural indie rock powerhouse Gang of Youths have surprise-released a new three-song EP entitled Total Serene.

Featuring the previously released single ‘The Angel of 8th Ave.’, the new EP also features the brand new single ‘Unison’ and a cover of Elbow’s ‘Asleep in the Back’ from the band’s 2001 debut LP of the same name.

When ‘The Angel of 8th Ave.’ was first released back in June, we described it as being “full of pulse-pounding rhythms and walls of distorted guitars.” The band’s press release at the time also called the song “the first chapter of [a] new era” without specifying what specifically would take shape in the future. Now we know that Total Serene was part of that bold step forward.

Announcing the EP on the band’s social media pages, the release also comes with a hand-written statement from the band, which reads: “G’day legends, this is ‘Total Serene’. Sorry it took so fucken long. More to come though, so don’t worry. We hope you enjoy it as much as we do.”

The band have been discussing their third full-length release for some time now. There are reports that it’s set to feature Formula One driver Daniel Ricciardo. There are also reports that the band have been working on it during the quarantine, and that their postponed arena tour with Sam Fender has allowed them more time to finish their songs. There’s a lot of conjecture, but not a lot of solid news regarding the elusive third studio album.

In the meantime, we’ll all just have to be held over with Total Serene which, for a sub-15 minute release featuring only two originals, is a surprisingly robust and satisfying listening experience. It might be a brief stopover, but it’s pretty damn good in its own right.

Check out the audio for Total Serene down below.