Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Justass)


Franz Ferdinand announce greatest hits album

Scottish rock heroes, Franz Ferdinand, have announced the new album Hits to the Head, a 20-song greatest hits compilation. Scheduled for release on March 11th via Domino, it also features two stellar new songs, ‘Billy Goodbye’ and ‘Curious’.

To complement the release of ‘Billy Goodbye’, the band have released a hilarious new video, alongside the album’s artwork and tracklist. Frontman Alex Kapranos also discussed the album’s writing and the thought process underpinning it. He said: “It’s the same as writing a set-list for a festival: You want to play the songs you know people want to hear. The hits. Bring the hits to the head. The heart. The feet. That means obvious singles, but also songs you know have a special meaning for both band and audience like ‘Outsiders.’ We also added two new songs, recorded last year: ‘Billy Goodbye’ and ‘Curious,’ both co-produced at the last stage with Stuart Price.”

He explained: “I have friends who believe you’re somehow not a “real” fan if you own a best of rather than a discography. I disagree. I think of my parents’ record collection as a kid. I loved their compilation LPs. I am so grateful that they had Changes or Rolled Gold. Those LPs were my entrance point. My introduction.”

In other news, Franz Ferdinand announced that they’ve parted ways with their long time drummer Paul Thomson. In his departing statement, he concluded: “Franz Ferdinand was, is, and always will be family and a huge part of me.”

Hits to the Head tracklist:

  1. Darts of Pleasure
  2. Take Me Out
  3. The Dark of the Matinée
  4. Michael
  5. This Fire
  6. Do You Want To
  7. Walk Away
  8. The Fallen
  9. Outsiders
  10. Lucid Dreams
  11. Ulysses
  12. No You Girls
  13. Right Action
  14. Evil Eye
  15. Love Illumination
  16. Stand on the Horizon
  17. Always Ascending
  18. Glimpse of Love
  19. Curious
  20. Billy Goodbye

Watch the video for ‘Billy Goodbye’ below.