Subscribe to our newsletter

Credit: Spenas


Essential Listening: The week's best new music


We’re taking the moment to look back at the week’s best new music as tracks from Cage The Elephant and Iggy Pop, Happyness, and Best Coast and many more made our Essential Listening list.

Below we’re bringing you the best songs from the week as we highlight the finest sounds from artists you know and love as well as introducing you to artists you need to keep your eye on.

Releases from legendary rockers Pearl Jam saw them share their first new song in six years as well as some new tunes from Angelica Garcia and Waxahatchee makes this a week to remember.

A combination of legends and bright young things, new takes and remixed recordings, let’s take a look back at the week’s best new music:

‘Vegetable’ – Happyness

London band Happyness return with their first new music in three years with their latest single ‘Vegetable’ taken from their forthcoming new album.

The new material is birthed around the somewhat turbulent recent lives of founding members Jonny Allan and Ash Kenazi went through a break-up and coming-out respectively. “A phrase that Ash says the whole time after crazy-party-nights is ‘I’m as great as I am because I destroyed myself’ and I think a vegetable is like that,” Allan explains.

‘Broken Boy’ – Cage The Elephant & Iggy Pop

Cage The Elephant share a new version of their song ‘Broken Boy,’ with Iggy Pop providing his dulcet tones to turn this track up to eleven. The song sees the godfather of punk singing a verse and contributing backing vocals to the opening track from the band’s latest record Social Cues.

Frontman Matt Shultz spoke of his adoration of Iggy “He’s such a pioneer in so many fields: lyrically, culturally, poetically, visually, musically, and stylistically. Only a couple times in your life do you have the opportunity to share a moment with a visionary and beautiful human as he is”

‘Everything Has Changed’ – Best Coast

Best Coast returned for with their first new music (excluding their children’s album) in November, sharing ‘For The First Time’ and now have released the next single from Always Tomorrow, the album which lands on February 21st – ‘Everything Has Changed’.

The track represents a personal moment for the duo’s Bethany Costentino, providing the breakthrough moment during writer’s block following the closing of California Nights. She shared in a press release, “I couldn’t write music. There was so much bubbling inside of me, so many things happening, so much to process, but I couldn’t get any of it out. I was miserable and felt like nothing was ever going to change. One day, I locked myself in my closet and I forced myself to write, and out came ‘Everything Has Changed’.”

‘Stay 97’ – David Bowie

The latest in the series of previously unheard versions of some of Bowie’s most iconic songs sees this cut from ‘Station To Station’ be given the Outside tour treatment.

Co-produced by Bowie, Reeves Gabrels and Mark Plati, and will appear on upcoming release Is It Any Wonder? EP. You can listen to the new version below.

‘Guadalupe’ – Angelica Garcia

Angelica Garcia, the musician who was endorsed by Barack Obama as part of his year-end music list, has announced her forthcoming new album Cha Cha Palace. Garcia has shared the record’s first tingle, ‘Guadalupe’, which is available to stream below and shows off every bit of Presidential credential she so rightly has.

‘Fire’ – Waxahatchee

‘Fire’, the first single to be taken from the upcoming new record from Waxahatche is a beautiful reflection of a growing artists: “The idea and melody for ‘Fire’ was dreamt up while driving over the Mississippi River from Memphis into West Memphis, AR, sun reflecting off the water which literally made West Memphis glow. The song’s written by me, to myself.”

Crutchfield added. “It’s about the internal dialogue of shame surrounding mistakes you’ve made in the past and how we spiral and beat ourselves up when we slip. It’s meant to be a bit of a personal pep talk.

“If I can love myself unconditionally, then I can move through the world a little easier. If I can accept that I only have a partial view of the universe, and that I can’t know everything or control much of anything, then I can breathe a little easier, take better care of myself, and be closer to my own truth.”

‘Dance of the Clairvoyants’ – Pearl Jam

Pearl Jam have made their long-awaited return with the release of their new single, ‘Dance of the Clairvoyants’. The track arrives as the first single taken from their forthcoming new album, Gigaton. The record, Pearl Jam’s 11th to date, is the eagerly anticipated follow-up to 2013’s effort Lightning Bolt.

‘Every Feeling’ – Ezra Furman

Ezra Furman returns with Sex Education OST, songs from series one and two of the hit Netflix TV show. “Making music for a TV show was a new experience for me,” Furman says. “As a fan of many a high school comedy, for example, The Breakfast Club and 10 Things I Hate About You, I knew how fun the music can be, and also how emotional. I wanted to rise to the challenge.”

As a toast to the release, Furman has shared the new one ‘Every Feeling’ to get you in the mood.

‘Cop Car’ – Mitski

Mitski has released her new song ‘Cop Car’ which has been taken from the soundtrack of the forthcoming new horror film The Turning.

The film, directed by Floria Sigismondi, includes the likes of Courtney Love, Warpaint, Kim Gordon and more big names who have contributed to the project. But Mitski’s performance on ‘Cop Car’ had us from the very first moment.