Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: The Bardos)


Devendra Banhart shares cover of Marc Bolan song 'Scenescof'


Devendra Barnhart has released his reworking of Marc Bolan song ‘Scenescof’ as part of a brand new tribute album in honour of the former T-Rex frontman.

The new album, entitled AngelHeaded Hipster, sees a collection of major stars including the likes of Elton John,
U2, Joan Jett, Nick Cave, Peaches, Marc Almond and more all reinterpreted and reimagined some of Bolan’s greatest tracks including Jeepster, Bang A Gong (Get It On) and Ride A White Swan.

Barnhart’s effort comes as the second teaser from the record, ‘Scenescof’ brining a moment of reflection to the 26-track album, helmed by veteran producer Hal Willner — who passed away April 7 due to complications from coronavirus.

“I was completely in love with Marc Bolan, from John’s Children to Dandy in the Underworld and everything in between,” Barnhart said. “I remember the feeling of freedom I got from ‘Scenescof’… ‘I don’t need anyone to dictate all my fun smile your smile and then run’…. That line gave me the courage to carve out a little bit of fantasy in my life back in my late teens. But now, the song will be inextricably linked with mourning, it was the last time I was in a studio with my dear dear friend Hal Willner.”

Barnhart added: “I haven’t even begun to process the heartbreak of that loss… we were just texting about Jerry Lewis and sending each other links to funny videos and weird songs and two weeks later he was gone…. Hal had the coolest, calmest demeanor, the kind that comes from having had really been through some shit and come out of it still caring about life, the world, and art. I will miss him terribly, to two angel headed hipsters , I’m honoured to be a part of this tribute album.”

Bolan, who enjoyed what many describe as his ‘golden era’ during the late sixties and seventies when he was the biggest selling singles artist since the Beatles, tragically died in 1977 aged just 29, after a car crash in Barnes, London. Despite his untimely death, Bolan’s reputation has only grown in the years that followed.

I pioneer of glam rock, Bolan has been famously cited as a major influence by some of the biggest
names in music from David Bowie to Johnny Marr—and the sheer amount of high profile names appearing on the upcoming tribute album pays testament to that.

Below, enjoy Barnhart’s effort.

AngelHeaded Hipster Tracklisting:

Disc 1

  1. Children Of The Revolution – Kesha
  2. Cosmic Dancer – Nick Cave
  3. Jeepster – Joan Jett
  4. Scenescof – Devendra Banhart
  5. Life’s A Gas – Lucinda Williams
  6. Solid Gold, Easy Action – Peaches
  7. Dawn Storm – BØRNS
  8. Hippy Gumbo – Beth Orton
  9. I Love To Boogie – King Khan
  10. Beltane Walk – Gaby Moreno
  11. Bang A Gong (Get It On) – U2 feat. Elton John
  12. Diamond Meadows – John Cameron Mitchell
  13. Ballrooms Of Mars – Emily Haines

Disc: 2
1. Main Man – By Father John Misty
2. Rock On – By Perry Farrell
3. The Street and Babe Shadow – By Elysian Fields
4. The Leopards – By Gavin Friday
5. Metal Guru – By Nena
6. Teenage Dream – By Marc Almond
7. Organ Blues – By Helga Davis
8. Planet Queen – By Todd Rundgren
9. Great Horse – By Jesse Harris
10. Mambo Sun – By Sean Lennon & Charlotte Kemp Muhl
11. Pilgrim’s Tale – By Victoria Williams & Julian Lennon
12. Bang a Gong (Get It On) [Reprise] – By David Johansen
13. She Was Born to Be My Unicorn / Ride a White Swan – By Maria McKee & Gavin Friday