Subscribe to our newsletter

Credit: Gerald Fearnley/ACC Edition

David Bowie's 'VH1 Storytellers' session to get exclusive vinyl release


To mark its 20th anniversary, David Bowie’s live ‘VH1 Storytellers’ session will be released as part of an exclusive vinyl package.

The performance, which originally took place on August 23 1999, saw Bowie perform an intimate set for invited guests at The Manhattan Centre’s Grand Ballroom in New York.

The performance is etched into the history of Bowie’s iconic live performances and, ten years after the show, he released the VH1 Storytellers is a live album as a CD and DVD. Now, 20 years on, the album will be given a special vinyl rework.

The 2xLP record features 12-tracks which includes hits such as Life On Mars?’, ‘Rebel Rebel’, ‘Word On A Wing’ and more. The full tracklisting can be found below.

Bill Flanagan, Executive Producer of the VH1 Storytellers, said: “We were used to dealing with legendary musicians. Still, landing David Bowie was more than a big booking. There’s no way to say this without being corny: it was an honor,” he said.

He added: “Bowie has a unique place in rock and roll. He is not only one of the most influential musicians of the era, but he does nothing unless he is fully committed.”

See some of the performance, below.


Side 1

1. Life On Mars?
2. Rebel Rebel (truncated)
3. Thursday’s Child

Side 2

1. Can’t Help Thinking About Me
2. China Girl
3. Seven

Side 3
1. Drive-In Saturday
2. Word On A Win
3. Survive

Side 4

1. I Can’t Read
2. Always Crashing In The Same Car
3. If I’m Dreaming My Life