Subscribe to our newsletter

Credit: ITV


David Bowie's 'Repetition '97' video released for the first time


A previously unreleased music video for David Bowie’s version of ‘Repetition ’97’ has been released at long last.

The visuals for ‘Repetition ’97’ has been compiled from clips of rehearsals for Bowie’s 1997 ‘Earthling Tour’ which was filmed by Tim Pope in Hartford, Connecticut. The re-worked version of the track, which originally appeared on Bowie’s 1979 album Lodger, is set to appear on the forthcoming archival release ChangesNowBowie which consists of nine previously unreleased tracks.

The majority of the recordings were part of a BBC special which was broadcast to mark Bowie’s 50th birthday in the January of 1997 which comprised of a recording session at Looking Glass Studios in New York in the November of 1996 that was produced by Bowie alongside band members Reeves Gabrels and Mark Plati.

ChangesNowBowie was set to arrive on Record Store Day next week but that has now been postponed until June 20th. Now Bowie fans will have to wait a little longer to get their hands on the vinyl edition of the release. However, the collection will still receive a digital release on the original date of April 17.

‘ChangesNowBowie’ follows many archival Bowie releases in the years succeeding the singer’s death. In January, Parlophone Records released the ‘Is It Any Wonder?’ EP, featuring recordings from a similar period. The video for ‘I Can’t Read ’97’ was similarly composed of rehearsal clips for Bowie’s 1997 ‘Earthling Tour’, and was also filmed by Pope in Hartford, Connecticut.

ChangesNowBowie tracklist:

  1. ‘The Man Who Sold The World’
  2. ‘The Supermen’
  3. ‘Andy Warhol’
  4. ‘Repetition’
  5. ‘Lady Stardust’
  6. ‘White Light/White Heat’
  7. ‘Shopping For Girls’
  8. ‘Quicksand’
  9. ‘Aladdin Sane’