Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Courtney Barnett)

Courtney Barnett covers Loose Tooth song 'Keep On'


Courtney Barnett has covered Loose Tooth song ‘Keep On’ as part of a new compilation album Milk on Milk.

The album, created by Australian label Milk! Records, features multiple different artists covering each other’s material and is due out November 15th.

“We took Loose Tooth on tour around Europe in Mid-2018 and every night I sat in my hotel room teaching myself how to play Keep On,” Barnett explains in a press release. “This was before their album had come out but the song already felt like an old classic to me. I sat in bed with my guitar every night n I had to slow the song down and pull it apart a little bit n in that process it gained a certain weight where I heard the words differently. The chorus became a mantra and shook me up a bit.

“Loose Tooth have this incredible talent for churning out the sweetest pop songs with these biting lyrics, all whilst maintaining this charming n disarming onstage banter n crowd surfing to the bar for a beer mid-song. The lyrics to this song are particularly powerful n nostalgic to me. The band performing with me is Jen Sholakis on Drums, Dave Mudie on Bass n Me on Guitar. I didn’t let them rehearse cos I knew they’re too good and they’d work better n looser under the pressure. We recorded it in a few hours with everyone on vocals at the end plus a little added angel, Anika AKA Hachiku.”

Stream the track, below.

Milk On Milk tracklist

01 Tiny Ruins – ‘Tell Her She’s Dreamin’ (jade imagine cover)
02 Courtney Barnett – ‘Keep On’ (Loose Tooth cover)
03 Hachiku – ‘Body Language’ (The Finks cover)
04 Jen Cloher – ‘The Body Appears” (Evelyn Ida Morris cover)
05 The Finks – ‘DOG FM’ (East Brunswick All Girls Choir cover)
06 Jade Imagine – ‘Dream Wave’ (Tiny Ruins cover)
07 Evelyn Ida Morris – ‘Nameless, Faceless’ (Courtney Barnett cover)
08 East Brunswick All Girls Choir – ‘Polar Bears’ (Hachiku cover)
09 Loose Tooth – ‘Name in Lights’ (Jen Cloher cover)