Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: James Krivchenia)


Big Thief’s James Krivchenia shares three singles from upcoming solo album

Big Thief drummer James Krivchenia has released three singles from his upcoming solo album A New Found Relaxation.

The album, which is due to be released on June 26, was recorded in 2019 in a small town in New Mexico. According to a press release, the album was “made from hundreds of tiny fragments of internet spa radio, ASMR YouTube holes, field recordings and cast off muzak”, which were then manipulated by Krivchenia into 12 different ambient tracks.

“It’s my attempt at fast slow paced music,” said Krivchenia in a statement.

“I was trying to take mundane or banal ‘beauty’ and process it – in the literal musical realm but also within myself. To me, the smooth chilled out background music of our world is often the most terrifying. I wanted to swim in relaxation signifiers but stir the pot, foul it, and have everything sort of bleed together and swirl with pace. Part of immersion for me also contains a sense of confusion and that’s the kind of immersion I’m going for.”

Big Thief recently released the gorgeous Love Is Mine which was an offcut from their highly acclaimed 2019 album Two Hands. Earlier in April, the band also shared a set of previously unheard 2018 demos in benefit of their touring crew whose livelihoods have been stopped in their tracks. It saw three previously unreleased songs as well as two songs that appeared on Lenker’s solo album abysskiss.

Krichvenia shared the three tracks ‘Temptation Reduced’, ‘The Eternal Spectator’ and ‘Touched By An Angel’ as a single track on his YouTube page, which you can listen to below.

A New Found Relaxation tracklisting:

01 Temptation Reduced
02 In My Own Image
03 Loveless But Not Joyless
04 The Eternal Spectator
05 Idiot Passion
06 Touched by an Angel
07 Fountains of Youth
08 Unembarrassability
09 A Better Kind of Wrongness 10 Legendary Liquids
11 Head 2 Toe
12 Now I Walk in Beauty