Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Alexandra Waespi)


Arlo Parks announces debut album 'Collapsed In Sunbeams'

Arlo Parks has shared details of her hotly anticipated debut album which she has titled Collapsed In Sunbeams and will be available on January 29th via Transgressive Records.

To celebrate the release of her brand new single, Parks has also shared her glorious new single ‘Green Eyes’ which features backing vocals from Clairo. The latest single is another example of Parks’ tremendous talent and what a remarkable voice she is gifted with. Speaking about the new number, the 20-year-old artist said: “This is a song about self-discovery, self-acceptance and adolescence. It is supposed to uplift and comfort those going through hard times.”

Parks is one of the few people who has had a 2020 to remember, following the release of her single ‘Black Dog’ earlier in the year which seemed to capture the mood of the nation during the first lockdown. She then followed that up in beautiful style with the emphatic ‘Hurt’ and has seen herself win over an army of fans including the likes of Billie Eilish and Michelle Obama who can’t get enough of her output.

Speaking about her debut LP, Arlo says: “My album is a series of vignettes and intimate portraits surrounding my adolescence and the people that shaped it. It is rooted in storytelling and nostalgia – I want it to feel both universal and hyper-specific.”

She recently joined forces with Phoebe Bridgers who asked her to link up together for the Piano Session on Radio 1’s Chillest Show, hosted by Phil Taggart which saw them perform ‘Kyoto’ from Bridgers’ Punisher, as well as a cover of Radiohead’s ‘Fake Plastic Trees’. Speaking about the collaboration, Bridgers said: “I can’t remember who sent Arlo to me initially but it was all I listened to for a couple of weeks, which is funny cos she doesn’t have that much music. I became a really big fan and we started DMing.”

Check out ‘Green Eyes’ and the tracklist for Collapsed In Sunbeams, below.

Arlo Parks – Collapsed In Sunbeams tracklist

  1. ‘Collapsed In Sunbeams’
  2. ‘Hurt’
  3. ‘Too Good’
  4. ‘Hope’
  5. ‘Caroline’
  6. ‘Black Dog’
  7. ‘Green Eyes’
  8. ‘Just Go’
  9. ‘For Violet’
  10. ‘Eugene’
  11. ‘Bluish’
  12. ‘Portra 400’